South Asian Cities Summit

17-04-2013 to 18-04-2013, New Delhi, India

Cities Network Campaign, in partnership with Department of Environment - Government of NCT of Delhi, All India Institute of Local Self Government (AIILSG), WRI India and UNESCO, is organising the South Asian Cities Summit to discuss, debate and develop model solutions for cities in South Asia and explore potential business opportunities.

The Summit will be a high‐profile gathering of senior local governments officials from South Asian cities (India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan) and from across the globe, international subject experts, policy makers, national/international organizations, technology providers in the renewable energy and energy efficiency sectors, financial institutions working in climate change in the South Asian countries and expects 250-300 international delegates to participate.

Confirmed speakers include

  • Honb’le Mr. Rohana Disanayake, Minister of Transport, Matale, Sri Lanka
  • Honb’le Shri Bharatsinh Solanki, Minister of State for Railways
  • Honb’le Shri Tushar Amarsinh Chaudhary, Union Minister of State for Road Transport and Highways
  • Hon’ble Shri Ajay Maken, Union Cabinet Minister for Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
  • Dr. S K Nanda, Home Secretary, Government of Gujarat
  • Dr. Jatin Modi, President, AIILSG
  • Mr. Ranjit Chavan, Director General, AIILSG
  • Mr. M.S. Ravishankar, IAS, Commissioner, Municipal Admin, Govt of Karnataka
  • Dr. Jyoti Parikh, Executive Director, IRADe
  • Dr. Anil Kumar, Director, Dept of Environment, Govt of NCT of Delhi
  • Prof. Mohan Munasinghe, MIND (co-winner of Nobel Prize for Peace 2007)
  • Dr. Lesley Sloss, Principal Environmental Consultant, Clean Coal Centre, IEA
  • Dr.Peter Graham, Executive Director, Global Buildings Performance Network
  • Prof. Usha P. Raghupathi, Professor and Officiating Director, NIUA
  • Mr. Shailesh Pathak, President, SREI Infrastructure Finance
  • Limited
  • Mr. Raj Kumar Singh, Director (Urban Transp), Ministry of Urban Development
  • Mr. Paul Schuttenbelt, South Asia Coordinator, CDIA
  • Ms. Akshima Ghate, Fellow, TERI
  • Mr. Amit Bhatt, Strategy Head – Integrated Urban Transport, EMBARQ
  • Ms.Tara Parthasarathy, Associate, WRI – India
  • Mr. Rajeev Ranjan Guru, Executive Director, The Green Mantra
  • Mr. C.N. Raghupathi, Vice President, M/s Infosys
  • Ms. Manvita Baradi, Director, Urban Management Center
  • Ms. Stefanie Bauer, Advisor Sustainable Economic Development India, GIZ
  • Dr. Sanjay Vashishtha, First Green Consulting
  • Mr. Shashikant Chopde, I-S-E-T
  • Dr. Rahul Walawalkar, Vice President, Emerging Technologies & Markets
  • Dr. Suresh Kumar Rohilla, Programme Director - Urban Water Management, CSE
  • Mr. Paul Butarbutar, Regional Director, South Pole Carbon


Hotel Imperial
New Delhi, India